4.2 V8 Coupe Quattro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4.2 V8 Coupe Quattro

Finally getting round to starting a thread for my Coupe project although the first posts will be copied and pasted from another forum I'm on. I didn't really have an outright plan for it or a particular time scale, it was really supposed to be a slow burner of a project mainly due to finances. I was sort of fortunate that I was able to a lot of overtime last year so that helped speed things up. I'm not a mechanic but have always been a tinkerer and like to learn new things, fortunate to be able to turn my hand to most things. The more things I can do myself the more it frees up vital ££s for tools and parts.
    I've always loved these and whilst my mates all had XR3Is etc years and years ago I had a 2.0 8v coupe and that was a superb yet slow car. I always said I'd have another and had been looking for a project so now was the time, I couldn't stretch to an S2 as a 2nd car so went for the 2.8 quattro. This one had been sitting in a barn for 8yrs but the guy I bought(blind Ebay purchase) it from had put it back on the road. It certainly wasn't an accurate description but overall I'm happy with it.

First up was a good clean, car was filthy inside and out, typical farmers car. Everything and everywhere had orange silty dirt ingrained in it. Interior cleaned up perfect but it was then I discovered a lot of it has been painted and not particularly well.
    A good spell with the DA got it presentable,

Dull clear coat,

To half decent shine,

As winter was closing in the plan was to fix the coolant leak and get the motor water and oil tight asap.
    New radiator, oil cooler, thermostat, lower sump gasket, power steering cooler and various pipes were sourced and fitted. Front panel was stripped and repainted whilst it was off the car and more cleaning.

The rear subframe was one of the few bits that were causing me some concern, leaks and rot!!