Loose spark plugs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loose spark plugs

I'm new to S2 ownership and have only had my 94 Avant for a couple of weeks.
    Its got FASH upto 145k, its now done 154k so I thought I'd give it its 40k service + cambelt. I've heard these stories about loose plugs, much to my utter amazement, 4 out of the 5 were loose (so loose in fact that I didn't need the ratchet to undo them - just turned them by hand!!)
    So, what's the recommended mileage frequency for checking these things?
    And anyone know why they come loose (1-4 were loose, 5 was tight as a ducks proverbial).
    Thanks
    Alex
    sigpic

Theory is that when they are overtightened (by a mechanic too lazy to use a correctly set torque wrench) that it causes the threads in the head to stretch and so leads to the plug working loose after a number of heat cycles.

Its wise to check this on every oil change - just don't overtighten them.

Manual says 25Nm, but 30Nm is a common view of some more safety margin. I dunno how much beyond that starts to create potential damage, but I wouldn't go more than 30Nm.

Paul
    Paul Nugent
    Webmaster http://S2central.net
    Administrator http://S2forum.com

1994 S2 Coupe ABY - aka Project Lazarus
    2001 A6 allroad 2.5TDi - family tank
    2003 S4 Avant 4.2 V8 - daily burble

Purveyor of HomeFries and Exclusive agent for Samco hose kits (S2/RS2)

There are only 10 kinds of people that understand binary - those that do, and those that don't

Comment

Ah yes, the downside to an aluminium alloy head - the threads are soft!!!
      Thanks for the advise.
      Alex
      sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by S2central.net
        Theory is that when they are overtightened (by a mechanic too lazy to use a correctly set torque wrench) that it causes the threads in the head to stretch and so leads to the plug working loose after a number of heat cycles.

Its wise to check this on every oil change - just don't overtighten them.