Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you back up your data?

If not, why not?!

How would you feel if your windows died, or your harddisk decided to corrupt itself one day randomly?

My XP was installed in 2003 and has been 100% stable ever since, I have tons of programs installed, and over 150GB of data.
    Yesterday my harddisk decided to corrupt itself and now windows wont boot.

What would you do if it was you, and you didnt have a back up of all of those mp3s you love, all those pictures/photos you could never replace?

Thankfully, I planned for this and have all my data on a seperate drive, (and dvd backups) so I can install windows on a new drive, and still have all my data.

Its surprising how many people dont have backups of their most important data, or never think to do it.
    I had it drummed into me when I worked as a computer engineer, it was always hard not to laugh when when seeing a managers face when going to a site to fix a system, ask for the backup to restore the data and to be told they hadnt done one!

You have been warned!!

yep happened to e windows started slowing right down so i went and bought a external hard drive and copyed everything i wanted and then couple of days later it crashed completly. well glad i done it now

Comment

I run 2 machines and laptop. All have the same data copied to and from each of them once a week.

I know somebody who had all the photos of his baby son on his laptop alone and the hard drive died.

Be sensible and back it up !

You could look at web based backups as well.
      What would happen if all 3 of my machines where destroyed in a house fire ?

cheers

rich
      sigpic
      "For what you spent on that you could have brought a new car"
      BUT I DON'T WANT A NEW CAR!

1995 S2 Avant, Volcano Black
      1982 VW Golf Mk1, primer yellow, will be finished one day, maybe.
      2003 VW T4 long nose X pack, (has become project)

Comment