Newbie! 3B Rebuild Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie! 3B Rebuild Project

Hi guys, I have 1992 3B Audi S2 and have 120,000 Kilometers in it. The car is totally stock except that the turbo doesn't work.
    I decided to replace it with a bigger one (enough to boost 380-400 HP).
    I'm think of getting all the RS2 bolt-on upgrades (Exhaust Manifold, Intercooler, Injectors, Fuel Pump, Regulator? Turbo maybe?).
    I heard about ignition system being restrictvie? can't I upgrade it?

And do you recommend me to rebuild the engine? what pistons, rods, bearings, head gaskets should i get?

What do I do about the ECU? I live in the middle east and our fuel rating is 91 unleaded.

Sorry for asking all those questions, im new at this.

Originally posted by Public Enemy
    Hi guys, I have 1992 3B Audi S2 and have 120,000 Kilometers in it. The car is totally stock except that the turbo doesn't work.
    I decided to replace it with a bigger one (enough to boost 380-400 HP).
    I'm think of getting all the RS2 bolt-on upgrades (Exhaust Manifold, Intercooler, Injectors, Fuel Pump, Regulator? Turbo maybe?).
    I heard about ignition system being restrictvie? can't I upgrade it?

And do you recommend me to rebuild the engine? what pistons, rods, bearings, head gaskets should i get?

What do I do about the ECU? I live in the middle east and our fuel rating is 91 unleaded.

Sorry for asking all those questions, im new at this.
    Hi, welcome to the forum.

I would suggest that you look in the various threads in the forum regarding engines and turbos.

I am not a turbo owner but I will try to answer your questions.

The first question is 'how fast do you want to go? next question is how much money do you have?

This will answer many questions.

The engine shouldn't need a rebuild at such a low mileage ( EDIT: kilometerage) , many cars have 200,000 miles on the speedo and are still ok. The 5 pot engine is long lived, especially when looked after.