thermostath modifying

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• thermostath modifying

In one of the threads I saw that drilling a hole in the thermostath is a quick (and dirty) solution to keep the watertemp a couple of degrease down.
    Has anyone more info/photo's ?
    Thanks in advance.

Mine sits at 94 degC when driving and gets to 100-103 when stopping at the traffic lights.
    S4 Rider

Not sure about the drilling thing. Never heard of it.
    Mine is behaving in much the same way. Below 90 when on the move but rises quite quickly when stopped at lights. It never used to do this. Used to sit at about 85 constantly.
    AS far as I understand an S2 should be just below 90 all the time.
    I was gonna look into changing the thermostat as a first step.

103 seems very hot but I am no expert in these things(still learning)
    Jon

91 3b S2

Now Sold

Comment

Ah I see you are called s4 rider. I guess you own an s4!!! should have looked more closely.
      I know even less about those.
      Jon

91 3b S2

Now Sold

Comment

Originally posted by s4_rider
        In one of the threads I saw that drilling a hole in the thermostath is a quick (and dirty) solution to keep the watertemp a couple of degrease down.
        Thanks in advance.

Mine sits at 94 degC when driving and gets to 100-103 when stopping at the traffic lights.

I found this one:http://cgi.ebay.de/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...914813361&rd=1
        Quattro Turbo Mega Giga

Comment

You can also use the VR6 thermostat which opens at 80ºc. Part number 075 121 113 D.

Ben
          the best intentions are fraught with disappointment - gil grissom

sigpic
          1994 ABY Avant - it's getting there

Comment

Thanks in advance.

I have indeed heard of this method and it works. I haven't personally tried it, however, a friend of mine does it all the time. It is better to gut get one that opens at lower temps.
            Joe "NoNonsense"
            axis motorsport