aby getting hot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• aby getting hot

i own an aby avant temperature is fine when underway but gets up too 100c before fan cuts in,excess temp seems to reduce boost/timing above 3500 rpm untill engine returns to 90c.no warning alert comes on but idle temp reaches 109c if left to its own devices.fan does do after run cycle,rad switch(3 pin) and thermostat have been replaced.please help!

Originally posted by peter
    i own an aby avant temperature is fine when underway but gets up too 100c before fan cuts in,excess temp seems to reduce boost/timing above 3500 rpm untill engine returns to 90c.no warning alert comes on but idle temp reaches 109c if left to its own devices.fan does do after run cycle,rad switch(3 pin) and thermostat have been replaced.please help!
    what about the coolant? has it been replaced recently? im no expert, but im sure somebody more knowledgeable than me will come up with more suggestions..
    Tim

1995 S2 Avant, ruby red - ** SOLD TO ROSS **
    Golf Rallye G60 ** SOLD **
    Golf MK2 Oaky with R32 engine
    Audi A6 Avant 1.9 TDi 130
    Golf MK2 8v Race car

Comment

Airlock in rad? Leaking rad(s)? Wrong type of coolant? Something blocking the airflow to the rads?
      Who replaced the thermostat, was it the right type?
      Ex S2 owner, now running around in an A4 Avant quattro...

Comment

hmmm, does the fan kick in at all to control the temperature? mine cycles on and off just about 90 degs running for about 15-20 secs at low/med speed.

Sounds like possibly the wrong rad switch has been fitted as yours kicks in at different temps to mine, i think it should start the fan at 87(?) degrees.

David
        sigpic

1992 3b S2 Coupe

Comment

Mine is the same. I think it's the mid-speed/'High Speed 1' which isn't working. 'Low Speed' fan works for a/c & after-run and 'High Speed 2' works at ~102 degC. Nothing in between.