Compressors and sandblasters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compressors and sandblasters

Well been looking at buying a compressor (2.5hp seems to be enough for paint spraying and sand blasting) After a bit of advice from Will (thanks for the phonecall bud) i going to give it a go myself on the quattro shell.

Has anyone any experience on these items?

Air compressor:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Air-Compre...ht_7686wt_1270

Or

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Rhyas-...ht_2799wt_1037

Sandblaster:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-10-Gal...ht_3242wt_1270

Just to see what people's experiance and recommendations are with these tools.

Will be looking at getting large amount's of sheeting to help keep the mess down
    Last edited by Rusty; 19 January 2012, 11:49.

I'm no expert on compressors but forget the first one, 2nd maybe but if i was doing an entire car i would want bigger. Its all about the air delivery rate for blasting, the CFM (cubit feet per minute), and the size of the tank.

I have a similar compressor to the first link that came with a small blasting bottle, works ok for small items if you take your time, but you get maybe 30 seconds of blast time before you have to stop and let the compressor build up pressure again. A larger compressor or storage tank would make all the difference.
    91CQ20v - Gone to a new home
    93UR-S4 - The Magic Carpet
    94S2Bus - The Emerald Express

Comment

At my work we have a large industrial sand blaster/glass blaster , on a massive industrial compressor and I can honesly say its a bit ****, and personally depending on what you want to do I would look at bead/shot blasters
      NOT a car dealer! just an S2/RS2 enthusiast

Comment

thanks guys

Its for on certai rust areas of my quattro. Not the whole car at the moment. Will also be used for blasting subframes and wheels etc
        Last edited by Rusty; 19 January 2012, 11:49.

Comment