Mig welder recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mig welder recommendations?

I'm getting fed up with relying on friends for basic metal fab work and repairs, so I'm considering getting a mig welder of my own.
    I wonder if anyone here has any recommendations for good value for money start up kit, or any other relevant advice.
    I have lots of experience of seeing welding being done, but no actual first hand practical experience.

TIA.
    SS

If you need a light portable welding machine with easy pre setted setting for different materials(of course custom settings are possible) then I think one of the best would be Kemppi MinarcMig EVO 200. It's so easy to use, that if you can't weld with it, then you shouldn't weld at all.

Audi UrS4 Avant 2.5 20vt - twincharged - Project
    Audi 80q B4 Sedan 2.2 20vt - Daily user
    BMW 320d Touring e91 M-Sport - Daily user
    BMW 740iA e38 - Project

Comment

Although I have no experience of R-Tech, they do seem to be well liked on this forum especially for TIG.
      They do MIG too http://www.r-techwelding.co.uk/weldi...nt/mig-welder/

I use a SIP Turbo MIG 195 myself. It must be nearly 20years old at this stage and still works fine.
      Some of the cheaper migs use plastic feed liners and these wear out and you start getting stuttering and splattering welds.

For GAS I previously rented the bottle and get it filled, but as I wasn't using it often I
      have switched to rent free Hobbyweld. Refundable deposit on the bottle and 35euro a fill.
      Eric

95 S2 Avant under rebuild.

Comment

I say like Thuppu, i have a Minarcmig Evo 200 myself. Wery easy to use and the will always be spareparts for it in the future. I'm wery happy with mine at least.

Comment

I use an old SIP myself, seems to keep on plodding on and I get good results with it after learning how to set it up