valve types info required

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• valve types info required

evening all i wonder if some of you can give me some info or point me in the right direction on the types of metals inlet and exhast valves are made of. from what i have seen so far is you can get stainless steel ,Black nitrided stainless steel, inconnel but what is the benifits of these over stand valve type, which is sooted for higher temperatures and is wear and life of the valve shorter with fancy materials over standard original valve types. i'm no rocket scientist so this is good for this and they are for that sort of thing is all i am after. thanks in advance dennis
    never set your expectations to high that way you are never disapointed

20v engines exhaust valves are sodium-filled. Sodium has low melting point which causes the sodium to circulate inside the valve and removing heat from the valve head. some stories i have heard that sodium filled valves are weaker and can not stand high rpms and stainless steel valves will burn due intense heat, but the last part i dont belive.

Comment

AFAIK - the sodium filled EX valves fitted in factory are well up for big boost and power levels.
      Paul Nugent
      Webmaster http://S2central.net
      Administrator http://S2forum.com

1994 S2 Coupe ABY - aka Project Lazarus
      2001 A6 allroad 2.5TDi - family tank
      2003 S4 Avant 4.2 V8 - daily burble

Purveyor of HomeFries and Exclusive agent for Samco hose kits (S2/RS2)

There are only 10 kinds of people that understand binary - those that do, and those that don't

Comment

the head i have is from a 7a would they have the same valve type? . another fing i had thought of the .5 mm over size valves 034 do but am not sure if they would be worth using . what i am after is what will cope with hotter exhaust gas temps just incass things run a bit hot when tuned to give the out put i want

Comment