Steering wheel options/advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering wheel options/advice

As I have an early S2 Avant (maybe even one of the first built I have recently found out), and therefore have no airbag to worry about, I am thinking of changing the steering wheel.

My first idea was a Momo wheel that WRC cars of the 90s/00s always used to have i.e. this:

Since seeing this cabrio on sale I thought a B5 A4 sport steering wheel would look nice too i.e. this:

Now obviously the second one will be just for aesthetic purposes as there will be no working airbag in there, so for which ever wheel I choose to go with what else is there I need to get myself to fit a steering wheel? Can that B5 wheel plop stright on or are there modifications required?

I'm a complete novice at this sort of stuff but am willing to learn and any help would be greatly appreciated

Momo looks awful to me. I'd choose the second one. Even so you can even retrofit the airbag stuff if you want to.

Dress it in alcantara as well. Very nice

Comment

How do you retrofit the airbag? Just out of interest because I wouldn't bother trying myself - just another thing for me to mess up!

Comment

As far as I have found out on the forums, B5 wheels will fit but only early b5 up to '97. If you go from non-air bag to airbag type wheel I think you have to change the stalk covering cowling too.
        Eric

95 S2 Avant under rebuild.

Comment

So would I need the cowling from a B5 to go with the wheel or just make some mods to the existing one?

Comment

Originally posted by Jack4688 View Post
            How do you retrofit the airbag? Just out of interest because I wouldn't bother trying myself - just another thing for me to mess up!