Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diff Mounts

Hi Peeps,

Ive got some rear diff mounts to replace. 2 stock and 1 uprated one.

Is this something that can be done while the car is jacked up? or will a ramp be needed?

also can this be done with standard tools or will I need something special?

Im not technical but when the car was up on the ramp it looked like a simple job.
    ABY Coupe
    sigpic

It's possible to do it on a jack. Make sure you have some extra safety pegs underneath it. You need some 17 and a 13 spanners, and a hexnut tool. To screw of the rear diff mount housing.

HTH
    RS2 Black - stock 315 HP
    RS2 RS blau - stock 315 HP
    Sport Quattro - 1005 HP
    High Octane website

Comment

excellent.. u have all the above and will borrow some axel stands

I can see the 2 mounts on either side.. but where is the 3rd mount on the back diff?
      ABY Coupe
      sigpic

Comment

Yes, 2 mounts on the side, and one higher up the rear of the diff.

Good luck with it!
        RS2 Black - stock 315 HP
        RS2 RS blau - stock 315 HP
        Sport Quattro - 1005 HP
        High Octane website

Comment

Thanx I need all the luck I can get

I got the pwoerflex rear diff bush kit, whats the grease for? Just smother it with grease before fitting?
          ABY Coupe
          sigpic

Comment

Has anyone experienced any difficulties changing rear diff mounts at all? Would like to be prepared for the job
            ABY Coupe
            sigpic

Comment

Good luck, this job was a b*tch at the garage meet for MartinJS, Mark Halligan, Spink and myself on my car. The bolt had corroded to the sleeve in the mount and wouldn't come out.

Had to use an Air Chisel to get it out!

Comment

crap that does'nt sound good at all.
                ABY Coupe
                sigpic

Comment