Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New S2 Owner

Morning.

I am a newbie to this forum and would like to introduce myself - I am male, 46 years young, need to get fit, drink too much Guinness and enjoy life.

I recently purchased the Red S2 that was advertised on Ebay, Piston Heads and other sites.

The car has covered 74K Miles and is in very very good condition, it has an extensive history file and prior to be buying I negotiated the price down and a complete new set of brakes, disks, pads, cables, wheel bearing, CV gaiters, and suspension top mounts. It drives very smooth and feels tight on the road.

There are a few niggly problems -
    Should it have an outside temp readout, LED?
    The Temp gauge gets to 90 Degrees then switches off?
    The Rev counter gets to 1500 RPM then stops, the Speedo is lazy - Sorted this one, someone has put white dials on it (stickers) and they have lifted slightly under the centre off both needles, binacle will be out this morning to sort.

It has a very slight miss fire at 60 mph when in 5th gear?

The Radio (non original) turned off above approx. 40 MPH - Sorted this one as well, the switched feed that had been used was incorrect and seems to be something to do with speed. Now taken the correct feed - As the instructions say and it works fine.

Went to start it today and the battery was very lazy / flat, I will put a new one on today and see if that sorts the problem, the battery meter inside was reading about 13+ Volts when driving it back so I think its charging, the car had stood for 11 months in a showroom.