Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC failing me...

Hello everyone!

Hope you're all looking forward to Christmas, if you celebrate it.

The bad news today....

...I had a blue screen a short time ago this evening - and then the PC took several goes before it would start again!

I might need Santa to bring me a new PC!!!

If I'm not around for a day or two it might be nothing to do with being shot to bits by Christmas, it might have everything to do with a failing PC....

Any idea what the info means?!! If you have, do let me know!!
    Martin Cutting

aka Keeper of "The Teutonic Kitten"

It's not better than sex, but it runs it a close second.

Im no expert by any means, but seems youve got a conflict on one of your USB devices.

Added anything new recently, or had any updates loaded?

"Driver IRQ" - as i understand it the IRQ address is like an address for every bit of hardware attached, and im guessing it either doesnt like one of your drivers, or the hardware itself. To be this serious though, id suggest maybe its actually the USB ports themselves rather than something attached to it

Can allways PM me ya number and can ring ya and try to help out.

The "Stop 0x00001" type numbers are the microsoft fault codes if you like, can look them up on microsofts website for info, but there not allways that clear or helpfull for the non technical!

First step would be to see what you have changed recently, software or hardware, take it from there.

HTH
    Audi A4 1.8Tq

VW Passat 1.8T RIP

Comment

Thanks Gary, there seems to be a concensus about a hardware device.

I've not added anything new but some people think it's possibly my ADSL modem, and that is of course a USB device - suggestions include that it is pulling too much from the motherboard and that I need to try a port which isn't direct to the motherboard, and that it needs a firmware update - I checked the manufacturer's website which was a bit rubbish to be honest.