Urs4 aan not starting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Urs4 aan not starting

I have a problem with my aan engined s4 where it is showing a g40 camshaft short to ground fault. I have tried new camshaft sensor, taking wire from plug to correct pin on ecu, checked all plugs etc. I then swapped ecus and it started briefly then cut out and again the same fault came back. I then tried my last spare ecu and the exact same. Could there be something causing ecu to short out? I have changed the fuel pump relay etc still the same fault, starting to tear my hair out with this. does anyone have any other ideas? Thanks

I'm not an expert (I'm sure one will be along soon) but have you recently replaced your alternator? There was someone here recently who fried his ecu after fitting a new alternator. The regulator was faulty and it allowed excessive voltage.
    Nothelle S2 Avant
    Black Ur project
    Ocianic Ur project gone
    S2 Coupe project gone
    Urs6 plus project gone

Comment

To be fair I hadn’t thought of alternator thank you, but I don’t think it gets going long enough to create any real voltage unless it’s possible just with turning over

Comment

How about the Immobiliser? Or maybe the older Urs4 doesn't have one?
        96 URS6 plus speck saloon
        96 URS6 plus speck estate
        94 2.6 80 Avant
        99 2.8 final edition Cabriolet

Comment

Yes s4 has no immobiliser, I can’t understand why it started then cut out then refuses to start at all and shows always the g40 fault.

Comment

Have you done any work on the car before this happened? I think G40 is the hall sender which would indicate the timing is out. Have you got any spark? It could be that your ecu takes a few seconds to detect the code and then shuts the engine down. Removing the ecu however should clear the code. Have you tried putting one back in?