K26 turbo questions and advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• K26 turbo questions and advice

I am new to this great forum,and am basically sponging some info and help,hope you's dont mind

I building a 16v (VW mk1 Golf)with turbo(a mini S2)anyway i using mostly S2 parts and need some(lots) of help

turbo K26,water and oil cooled,can someone tell me what this turbo came from(was told a 5000T US),what boost,bhp is it capable off??
    kund-nr 055 145 703M
    grosse k26
    atl,nr 85 678 0082
    ausf,nr 5326 970 6412

std S2 manifold

i have 2x wastgates,got one cheap with turbo(5000Qt) and another from ebay told (S2),is there anyway to tell which wastegate is set for what boost,will both be the same,also any way to test them,woud stripping them be simple and would the spring be visbly different??

S2 inlet manifold ,FPR, injectors(thanx VAGSPORT)(good guy good prices)

Intercoolers,i have a number of intercooler, have a 200QT,twin TT,twin 2.7,also G60,TD,i know bigger is better,to an extent,but how would you size an intercooler properly,are plastic end tank okay under 200bhp,,what about welding to twin SMIC,together and making new end tanks??

If any ones intrested,plan to run std 1.8 16v with G60 cable change box,and also G60 digi1 injection,with low boost,only looking for around 180-200bhp as a starting point(till i can afford a built 2.0L or a S2)anyway tips, advice or help would be great ,this is my first turbo project(if you hadnt already guessed)

Long post,im sorry,but if you can answer anything would be great

One last question,what thottle bodies does everyone use,does the RS and S2 have the same TB?? i have to modified my S2 IM by cutting a runner of and some of the main chamber,and will need to fab it to take a TB,so can basically fit any,just wondering what would be best,i see lot of US guys running VR6 TB,anyone any idea's