96 S2 Coupe KW V1 problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 96 S2 Coupe KW V1 problem

Hey guys, new here, had my S2 since February and just got round to fitting some KW’s, everything fitted together as expected but somethings not right.

First thing after dropping it off the ramp there car felt terrible, I noticed the alignment was well out, so I went about setting that up today and it has made a marked improvement.
    Took the car out on the road again and it still felt horrible but only in low speed tight corners or just generally whenever the steering was on or close to full lock.

The whole car is skipping as if the alignment is out, but I’ve double checked after setting it, I’ve gone over all the work I’ve carried out so far and everything looks perfect, just to add I’m a mechanic by trade. As much as I would like to spend all day looking for the issue, I was wondering if anyone had a similar issue with their S2 and could shed some light on the situation

TIA

Hi Sir,

Q. re: "felt horrible" - Was that through the steering wheel, the seat or both?

Q. re: "fitting some KW’s" - Was the previous strut's length stock? Does the car now sit any lower than previously? If yes, how much?

Q. re: A-arm bushings - what can you say about yours, OEM or poly, new or age unknown?

Reason I ask is particularly at low speeds with lots of lock, this puts tremendous loads onto the A-arms' bushings and will try to distort them, as one arm is being forced forward, the other towards the rear, highlighting any deficiencies there.

Cheers.

Comment

On Most permanent 4wd cars the steering will feel odd at full lock due to high steering angles and the rear wheels trying to push the fronts forward

Comment

There’s a lot of camber adjustment where the struts bolt to the hubs and also where the lower ball joints bolt to the A arms.
        Is all this set correctly?

Also worth asking, you haven’t somehow got the diff locked?

S2 Coupe 3B Project