Rear diff leak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear diff leak

What could be? Is there any seal right of the draining bolt? Im new to quattro, and when i took a look what must be done to remove the diff i felt sick.

Audi Quattro WR

Best thing to do is to give it a clean and find out where its leaking from as its hard to tell from the pictures.

I helped david (s2driveruk) remove his diff and change it for a 20v quattro one (the driveshaft cups need changing if you go that route) as the units generally have less abuse/power thru them. When doing the cups on the passenger side there is a seal which is like a spring that sits inside on his the first time we did this it was not on right so did not seal and leaked out that side so it could possibly be this, if it turns out not to be the plug.

If you check out project 'can of worms' there should be some pictures and info which could help.

Comment

I thought the gear ratio between the S2 diff and the 7A diff were differant

Agree with Acidburn on giving it a clean to see exactly where it is coming from
      sigpic

Comment

David's been using it for a while now and took it to the ring as well and have not heard no loud bangs recently so afaik its all good.

Comment

Yes ive been in davids car and i didn't seem to notice anything wrong

Takes around 2 hours to remove the diff if everything is seized on solid you will have to fill replace diff gear oil though, crack the drain then the filler plug before removing
          sigpic

Comment

Agree, give it a good clean to see where the leak is... If it is from the input / output shafts seals rather than the filler or drain plugs you can easily replace the seals without removing the diff itself... the input shaft seal is more difficult though... either way, I am guessing you will need a top up of oil...!
            Gooc luck
            Chris
            Honda CBR 1100XX Blackbird Turbo....undergoing major changes.....