X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1996 S6 Auto, not finding 3 and 4

Hi
    got an Urs6 Auto.
    Its smooth on cold from neutral into D or R.
    When a bit warm, it shunts. (bang).

Most worrying is it wont go for 3rd and 4th gear. It holds 2nd.
    It did try 3rd but then just slipped for fun (no drive).
    Any ideas? - changed the fluid recently, but Im new to the car so dont know
    how it was prior.

Q: is the kickdown switch up under the dash or is it on the end of a long bar on the end
    of the throttle cable, which seems to poke a vacuum pod stuck on the side of the block.
    thoughts appreciated. thanks

you need a VAG-com and check if it throw you any faults on the gearbox menu.
    the kick down switch is black box with rubber boot on the throttle cable being
    mounted on the firewall.There're 2 small wires on it.i don't think you have
    any problems with that switch though.I believe the clutch plate is on its
    time or need a rebuild.how many miles on this car?You may try to check
    the atf level if you lose some of it.also try to unscrew the drain plug and
    see if there's some clutch pieces coming out.
    one of a few I5 from Asia.

Comment

Hi
      The ATF was very dark. No bits and pieces or metal in it though.
      I'll vag com it for data and see what it says.
      I wondered about the kickdown in case its stuck on..
      I managed to get it to limp mode, which i think is supposed to default to 4th,
      and it slipped, so I sense a rebuild. I think the clutches are gone.
      ste

How many hrs labour (est) to get box out?
      thanks

Comment

Before you go too far.

You mentioned you're new to this car.

Why were you prompted to change the fluid ?

Was the box working before you started ?

And you changed the gearbox fluid.

Did you replace the filter ?

What fluid did you use to put into the gearbox ?

How did you measure how much new fluid to put into the gearbox ?